Solar Based Automatic Irrigation Using Soil Moisture Sensor

Hye, 

I’m a student of electrical engineering ( industrial technology).

I’m doing my final year project and in need of some suggestions. 

As stated, the water pump that I’m planning to build is a solar based. Based on my research, the efficiency of solar panel can be increased by using solar tracker or concentrator. Is it possible to combine both tracker and concentrator in order to received the max amount of solar energy?

If yes, would it be too difficult for a beginner like me? 

I would really appreciate any type of suggestions and response from anyone. 

Thank you.

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath

In my opinion sun tracking or concentrating are contra indicated for the intended application. For one thing the cost goes up five to ten times for robust tracking or concentrating systems. For another they are high on maintenance, which is a problem in remote areas.

For any reasonable irrigation system one needs a minimum of twenty square metres of solar PV panels. Difficult to use tracking or concentration.

Since it is an automatic system irrigation can take place at any time. Between 10 am and 2 pm the efficiency of insolation is between 85% to 100%. Even at 9 am and 3 am it is 70%. The implication is that tracking is not that important. One can choose to irrigate at maximum insolation period (10 am - 2 pm).

Maybe you can concentrate ( pun slipped in) on the software. You can divide the area into sectors with individual sensors and selectively deliver the water. You may have to allow for the time delay between delivering the water and the sensor to react to it after the water diffuses to it. Maybe some intermittent watering would be an optimum solution.

• Alice Zan
    Alice Zan

Good day sir #-Link-Snipped-#,

Thank you for spending your time to reply my post.

Sir, 

To summarize your suggestion, tracking and concentrator is not required as both could be very pricey.