Need some advice on power adapter, and quickly!

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I could really use the opinion of someone who knows what they're talking about - sorry for asking here, but this is the only place I could find and I feel I can trust you guys judgement. If you could help I'd really appreciate it.

I recently bought a new monitor for my server from ebay - the only thing it didn't come with was the original power adapter, but I had a universal ac/dc adapter lying around which I assumed would work. Of course, the monitor arrived, and the adapter didn't work. FAIL. Well, it kind of did - the monitor would cycle power, turning on for a split second before turning off for 3-4, and then repeating the cycle indefinately.

Now, I know for certain that the output of my universal adapter matches that of the official one - 12V DC, 3A. The universal supply is unregulated, although I'm not sure if that makes a huge difference - I'm assuming it doesn't.

I don't know much about this area of electronics - but maybe you guys have some idea of what the power cycling problem could be indicative of (be it the adapter or a component of the monitor)? I'm trying to assertain whether it'd be worth forking out for the proper adapter or just admitting defeat and returning it - the thing only has a 7 day warranty, but I'd rather keep it as it was a bargain... would there be any other difference between my universal adapter and the official one that could make the difference between a working monitor and a serious problem like this?

Replies

• sauravgoswami
    sauravgoswami
    hey fisrt of all make sure your monitor is fine,why dont ya try a sabilzer as its source,connect the adapter therr,then check,as for online purchase its always risky!!!
  • just2rock
    just2rock