How to add buttons in a window using Windows API?

I am a beginner in Windows API. I want to add a button to a window. Please share some light on Buttons in Windows API.
😀

Replies

• vishnu priya
    vishnu priya
    I think this coding should help you as this one creates a button!

HWND button =
    CreateWindow("BUTTON", /* this makes a "button" */"Class Options", /* this is the text which will appear in the button */WS_VISIBLE | WS_CHILD,5, /* these four lines are the position and dimensions of the button */60,105,20,hWnd, /* this is the buttons parent window */(HMENU)IDB_CLASS_OPTIONS, /* these next two lines pretty much tell windows what to do when the button is pressed */(HINSTANCE)GetWindowLong(insert, GWL_HINSTANCE),NULL);
  • gaurav.bhorkar
    gaurav.bhorkar
    LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(HWND hWnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
    {
        int wmId;

switch (message)
        {

[COLOR=DarkRed]case WM_COMMAND:
            wmId    = LOWORD(wParam);
            if (wmId == 1)
                MessageBox (hWnd, TEXT("Clicked"), TEXT("You Clicked!"), MB_OK);[/COLOR]
            break;

[COLOR=Blue]case WM_CREATE:
                CreateWindow (TEXT ("BUTTON"), TEXT ("Click Me!"), WS_CHILD | WS_VISIBLE, 60, 80, 60, 20, hWnd, (HMENU) 1, NULL, NULL);[/COLOR]
                break;

//--------further code------
    The blue code creates a button. Note that a button is also a window. The code given by Vishnu priya also creates a button and is similar to the blue code above. Notice the 'third last' parameter passed to the CreateWindow function, it is the ID passed in the WM_COMMAND message when the button is clicked. We created the button when our window receives a WM_CREATE message (this msg is received when the window is created)