What is WordPress used for?

I have no to little knowledge about wordpress. I have written 10-15 tutorials & projects in paper & now I am all set to create blog in Wordpress & post it one by one.

What my question is : If Wordpress can be accessed via web browser using internet, what is the need of installing it ?
What are advantages of installing wordpress ? How will it help me maintaining my blog ?

This might sound noob, but I am noob; hence I am looking for answer 😀

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    WordPress.org offers an open source software which you can install on your own server to run your own blog. You will be in complete control of the software, modifying it, theming it, creating add-ons and everything else. WordPress is a content management system and it just works out of the box. It offers you a nice admin control panel that lets you tweaks things for the front end and create content.

I'll recommend setting up a test server on your machine using xampp and install the latest version of WordPress to understand what it does.
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    A question :
    So, I have installed Wordpress in my system. And I can even login with my account details. But there is one confusion, which I need to clear out. :
    Before I installed Wordpress in my system, I already had created one page called 'Infinite Linux' in which I haven't posted anything.
    Screenshot from 2013-11-01 03:59:24

But when I use same account details & login using #-Link-Snipped-# from PC, it doesn't shows up my page i.e. 'Infinite Linux'. It shows 'abhishek's blog'.

Screenshot from 2013-11-01 04:03:54

Please educate me.
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    Alright, read few articles & understood everything.
    Thank you for replying & helping out. 😀
  • durga ch
    durga ch
    Good that you figured out!