Industrial (product and transportation) Design: Books on Basics of Sketching

Hi fellow CEans,

I recently completed my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. I wish to pursue my Masters in Industrial Design, product and transportation design to be specific. However, because of my non-design background I have little knowledge about sketching. The sketches I draw when I want to make a visual of my ideas can be understood by a very few people. Realizing that sketching will form the base of my Industrial Design program, I wish to learn sketching in detail from the basics. I am sure that learning sketching will help me sketch more profound and informative designs with greater details. So can you people help out with a good book which takes you through the basics and intricacies of designing and sketching for Industrial Design?
Thanks

Regards

Replies

• Mohit Kamat
    Mohit Kamat
    #-Link-Snipped-# #-Link-Snipped-# Please tag people who are Industrial Designers or in a similar field. Thanks a lot. 😀
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    I think mechanical engineering folks would be better suited to answer your question.
  • Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    Tagging #-Link-Snipped-# #-Link-Snipped-#
  • Shashank Moghe
    Shashank Moghe
    I have absolutely no idea for any of the books you are looking for, but since you plan to pursue your Masters in Industrial Design, I would suggest you take a look at the N number of MOOCs from the top universities in that field, look at their syllabus where normally the instructor would suggest prerequisites and text/reference books useful for the course.
  • Mohit Kamat
    Mohit Kamat
    #-Link-Snipped-# Yeah I am already taking 2 MOOCs from Delft University but they are more on the designing phase of the product. Sketching was covered in a small video, also there were no prerequisites mentioned at the start of the course.
  • Shashank Moghe
    Shashank Moghe