How to become a successful engineer?

I am a sophomore majoring electrical engineering. Because of my major, it's rather tough to keep on top of my studies as much as my professors tell me to do so. They have very high expectations of me and most of them aren't easy with assignments/tests. I get lots of B's and very few C's, but not A's. I've studied with other students and when we get papers back, I'm docked MORE points for a simple mistake and the other student wasn't docked AT ALL for the same mistake. We had the same answer.
I've never had a 4.0 in my life, but I try like its the end of the world. I study harder than all of my friends (they aren't engineers), I summerize chapters in my own words in a notebook, I complete assignments, I go to class EVERDAY, I NEVER fall asleep, etc.

Becoming an engineer is extremely hard at first. I figure it's because it's worth it in the end. My question is, was there a time in your college career when you felt like all odds were against you? How did you overcome it?

I'm looking for some inspiration and motivation. Serious answers please.

Replies

• KenJackson
    KenJackson
    When I enrolled as an Electrical Engineering major in college, I had no intention of becoming an engineer. I had enjoyed technician work and intended to pick up where I left off after college. I took EE because it was absolutely fascinating stuff. (Of course after a while I figured out that yes, I really did want to be an engineer.)

Do you enjoy the mind boggling information you're learning? Is it fascinating or drudgery? If your primary focus it just getting it done so you can get a good job, I can see why you're in pain. Enjoy the knowledge.