Working as engineer, no Uni

Hi CrazyEngineers,

I know there is not a lot of love for someone who does engineering without a degree, but please bare with me.

Ill try to keep this short.

I am Canadian and I got my telecom. technician diploma in college there.
After I graduated I was offered a electronics engineering position in my hometown. I moved to Japan, after 2 years working in Canada, and landed another engineering position. I truly love my job and really want to continue in engineering, but I want to move back to Canada. When I am planning on moving back, I will have about 17 years engineering experience.

Here is the question

Will my experience make up for my lack of formal education, or should I be planning on going back to school when i get back to Canada? (I will be in my early 40s at that time).

If I do need to go back to school, will my experience count for anything (I assume it depends entirely on the school)?

Thanks

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    @TokyoSuits: Welcome to CE.

We at CrazyEngineers believe that engineering is not about getting a formal degree. It's more about the passion for engineering.
    As you mentioned, you have got a telecommunication technician diploma in college, it says that you have got at least some amount of formal education.
    Moreover, I think 17 years engineering experience will give you a thousand extra points over the majority of engineers with a degree.
    At the end of the day, work speaks for itself.

Going back to school, in your case would be just like brushing up the basic skills that you must have acquired through practical experience.
    Even so, if you wish to take a break from work and study, that will be a refreshing experience. ๐Ÿ˜€

I am sure other CEans will be able to help you through their views and opinions.

All the best!
  • optimystix
    optimystix