What respect does a Masters degreeholder get in IT industry?

Hi ,

After my B.E I worked for 2 years in CTS,Chennai.Then I did my Masters in Elec. Engg from NUS.

Now getting a job in my core industry is very difficult and I am thinking of entering the IT industry again.

How much weightage will be given to my Masters degree?? Also pls let me know if there is any chance of a role change in the company?/

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    To begin with, I do not see any connection between the engineering discipline & job profile. Had you chosen to work in your core stream; you'd have had better chances of getting a chance to work as an electrical engineer.

You have masters degree in Electrical engineering and looking for a job in software industry, where your knowledge of electrical engineering may not be put to the best use. Software companies may not give as much importance to your masters degree as your previous experience with CTS. At the end, it's about how much value you can bring to the code that you write.

I am not discouraging you. There is a chance that CTS may offer you a senior position.

I think there are tons of job openings in big companies that may offer you a role as an electrical engineer. You should constantly be in touch with the Placements Department at NUS.
  • jith.912
    jith.912
    Hi Big,

Thanks for your interest in my thread.

From your reply i understand that you recommend Electrical Engineering jobs.But I am searchin for a job for ma core competency for more than 2 months.I am badly in need of a job now.

The career center in NUS is not even replyin to the mails i sent regardin placements... can u suggest me anyother means..

Once again thank you. 😀
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    @jith: The best way (which works!) is to upload two resume one with profile as electrical engineer and other with your regular profile (electrical engineering+MS) to all the leading job portals.