1. Home >
  2. Apps >
  3. Groups >

What is wringing of slip gauges?

Question asked by Kedar Malwadkar in #Mechanical on Jul 23, 2012
Kedar Malwadkar
Kedar Malwadkar 路 Jul 23, 2012
Rank C1 - EXPERT

Hello, I am Kedar and I am a crazy Mechanical engineer. I wanted to know what exactly is Wringing of slip gauges? I would appreciate if someone explained the process here. Thanks in advance.

Posted in: #Mechanical
zaveri
zaveri 路 Jul 23, 2012
Rank A3 - PRO
Slip gauges are high-precision measuring instruments, used for testing, inspection along with comparators.

Wringing is nothing, but removing the atmospheric air between two mating surfaces of any two gauge blocks, so that the blocks stick to each other due to vaccum.

to do this, hold the two blocks edge-to -edge, and gently push one of the blocks inside so as to make it sit on the other block, completely.
white_hat
white_hat 路 Jul 23, 2012
Rank C3 - EXPERT
Kedar Malwadkar
what is Wringing of slip guages?
You should check out TRIMOS.Google it to find out more.
Measurement labs do not use slip gauges any more,for high precision measurements trimos is used.
Kedar Malwadkar
Kedar Malwadkar 路 Jul 24, 2012
Rank C1 - EXPERT
white_hat
You should check out TRIMOS.Google it to find out more.
Measurement labs do not use slip gauges any more,for high precision measurements trimos is used.
might be, but it's in our syllabus so i need to read that!!!馃榾馃槈馃槑
Kedar Malwadkar
Kedar Malwadkar 路 Jul 24, 2012
Rank C1 - EXPERT
Thanks for the help guys!
Vinay Mishra
Vinay Mishra 路 Jan 25, 2020
Rank B2 - LEADER

Definition: A slip gauge is a measuring instrument which is used to measure the distance or gap between two join blocks/mesh gear.

We have a range of slip gauges between 0.5 to 100mm.