What Engineering Discipline reguarly uses Numerical Linear Algebra, Numerical Analysis, Numerical Optimization, Partial Differential Equations and Information Theory?

Hello, I have a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics (3.73 GPA) and want to pursue graduate school in engineering. I have never taken a single engineering course before.

What engineering discipline has an education in graduate school heavily tied to Numerical Linear Algebra, Numerical Analysis, Numerical Optimization, Partial Differential Equations and Information Theory?

I want a Research Thesis Engineering Master's Degree with a strong focus on using the mathematical concepts in my question title to solve problems. I do not want a heavily proof based education as I can study that on my own. I plan to get about three years industry experience as an Associate Data Scientist before starting this Master's degree. I want to become a Data Scientist or do similar work in Engineering.

That said, would an Engineering Master's program allow me to take 6 non-engineering electives to satisfy my degree? Specifically, I want to take:

6 Engineering Classes, 2 Research Classes, Data Mining, Machine Learning Theory, Deep Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Bayesian Statistics, and High Dimensional Statistics. I would audit Statistical Inference, and I would audit Generalized Linear Models.

Does an Engineering Master's Degree sound like a good fit for me? If so, which sub-field?

Replies

• Joseph Duwensee
    Joseph Duwensee

Because I cannot find an edit button: Instead of Data Mining, I might take a course on optimizing and scaling algorithms for production and parallel computing.

• Joseph Duwensee
    Joseph Duwensee

I have heard that any sort of simulation in Aerospace Engineering will especially be up my alley, and I'll try to add stochastic processes to that work. I'll need to get in contact with staff/faculty to discuss my lack of prerequisites.

• DM update
    DM update