1. Home >
  2. Apps >
  3. Groups >

What are the few steps to be undertaken to become a good programmer?

Question asked by Akhila Janapati in #Programming on Dec 20, 2019
Akhila Janapati
Akhila Janapati · Dec 20, 2019
Rank D3 - MASTER

As im in 4th year ,though i know all the theory about the programming languages i'm not that much good in programming.Though i practice to learn how to code and how to write a logic, but im not able to do in coding exams because of which im loosing many job oppurtunities. 

can anybody suggest the neccesary steps to be taken to be a good coder and to write a code for the  problem statements asked in exams.

Posted in: #Programming
Kavya Burramolla
Kavya Burramolla · Dec 20, 2019
Rank C1 - EXPERT

Hi Akhila, I understand, two years back I was also in the same situation. I completely agree with your point having theoretical knowledge and writing logic alone will not serve the purpose to crack the exam.

Sometimes we write the logic correct but there are chances we may end up with no or wrong outputs.  

Try to practice more and more programs and start with small projects available online where you will experience with bugs or errors. Once you start exploring over these bugs you will find other different methods to try for and learn from your mistakes. 

I suggest you to practice problems on some of the online sources like code chef, geeks for geeks. 

Karshil Sheth
Karshil Sheth · Dec 20, 2019
Rank C2 - EXPERT

Hey, first of all don't be scared or afraid or don't get rid of programming. At first it will feel to leave it or just pack it up. Don't do that instead try solving some questions from sites like leetcode, codechef and hackerrank. As a beginner try to solve easy level problems using pen and paper and then try to implement in the code form. There are  basic steps which I follow :    

Try to Analyze the problem and in one read if you can't, try reading it multiple times.