VLSI implementation of adders

Hi,
I am doing my mini project on the topic VLSI implementation of adders for high speed ALU
We are comparing various adders like Carry save, carry select, carry skip, Ripple carry and carry look ahead adder on their performances upto 32 bits using XILINX software version 9.1.
Is their any other adder which can be included that has the high speed when compared to those mentioned above ??

Replies

• Nayan Goenka
    Nayan Goenka
    I studied BCD adders too in the topic of Adders and I guess you are missing that. If you are including all adders, then BCD can also be included. I am not sure about its speed constraint though.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Thread Moved to Electronics engineering section.
  • Teresan
    Teresan
    Hi, I am not including BCD adders. Am selective in choosing the HSA (high speed adders) I chose only carry select,save and skip and concluded that carry select has the good speed capability..
    I just wanna know about others...
    I ll find out the speed capability of BCD adder too..
  • Cyborg 009
    Cyborg 009
    Kogge-Stone adder...fastest adder design possible.
    Manchester carry chain...
  • Teresan
    Teresan
    Cyborg 009
    Thank you ..
    Can you explain what is Kogge stone adder is ?
    And how it works?
  • Cyborg 009
    Cyborg 009
    variation of carry look ahead...
    expansion for 4bit kogge stone..
    Si= Pi XOR Ci-1
    S0 = (A0 XOR B0) XOR Cin
    S1 = (A1 XOR B1) XOR (A0 AND B0)
    S2 = (A2 XOR B2) XOR (((A1 XOR B1) AND (A0 AND B0)) OR (A1 AND B1))
    S3 = (A3 XOR B3) XOR ((((A2 XOR B2) AND (A1 XOR B1)) AND (A0 AND B0)) OR (((A2 XOR B2) AND (A1 AND B1)) OR (A2 AND B2)))
    S4 = ((((A3 XOR B3) AND (A2 XOR B2)) AND (A1 AND B1)) OR (((A3 XOR B3) AND (A2 AND B2)) OR (A3 AND B3)))
  • Teresan
    Teresan
    Cyborg 009
    variation of carry look ahead...
    expansion for 4bit kogge stone..
    Si= Pi XOR Ci-1
    S0 = (A0 XOR B0) XOR Cin