try this BUZZLE... really good one

A soap company has produced 10 boxes of soap. Each box contains 100 bars of soap, and is supposed to weigh 30kgs. But each of the bars of soap in one of the boxes is 1g more than it should be. You have a digital scale that you can use for reading the weight only ONCE. How do you know which box weighs more?
โ€‹

Replies

• ElectricStriker
    ElectricStriker
    is it that hard !!!
  • komputergeek
    komputergeek
    Can he use any means to compare weights of 2 boxes?
    If he can then he will take any random box and weigh it.If it is 30kg +100g (I am bad in maths.Still i am a engineer ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) then he got the solution else he will compare that box with all other boxes to get the answer.
  • ElectricStriker
    ElectricStriker
    sorry man, u can use the digital scale only once...think again:wink:
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    ElectricStriker
    A soap company has produced 10 boxes of soap. Each box contains 100 bars of soap, and is supposed to weigh 30kgs. But each of the bars of soap in one of the boxes is 1g more than it should be. You have a digital scale that you can use for reading the weight only ONCE. How do you know which box weighs more?
    โ€‹
    My take -

Name the boxes from 1 - 10. Take out as many bars from each box as its number. That is, 1 bar from the box #1, 2 from box # 2, and so on till 10 bars from box # 10

Then weigh them together. The difference in the expected weight and the actual weight should shout the number of the faulty box. [โ€‹IMG]

Alright? :hehehe:
  • durga ch
    durga ch
    biggie!! I understood your solution... if the expected wt is 1 gm more than actual wt the bar is from first box... if its 2 gms more its in second box... and so on.. good till here...but tell me what if all the bars are identical?I mean same size and shape??

1 sec I guess I know how..