Theory-based Engineering Or Practical-based Engineering?

In most of the Universities in India, theory examinations are given the vital role. Thus, we study 'loads of theory' for every subject and write the same in the examination to clear that subject.

But a question arised in my mind that, do we really know how to implement those things?
And without implementation, is Engineering justified?

What do you think?
Practical-based Engineering must be concentrated more or the Theory-based Engineering?

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    MegaByte
    But a question arised in my mind that, do we really know how to implement those things?
    And without implementation, is Engineering justified? What do you think? Practical-based Engineering must be concentrated more or the Theory-based Engineering?
    I graduated from Andhra 'Varsity in 1960. We had a six day week. Theory was confined to the forenoon. Every afternoon was practicals. Any engineer worth his salt must get his hands dirty (virtually dirty for the IT lot!) is my conviction. Even now I work with my hands on my projects.

Bioramani
  • MegaByte
    MegaByte
    Its really nice that your University focuses on practicals. Actually I am the student of Nagpur University and here practicals are treated as the secondary aspect and are generally not given more focus. The focus is completely on theory and how to clear the examination. Sometimes its really annoying to do all this stuff. So, we try out by our own. ๐Ÿ˜’
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    Every university have to changed their systems and have to add the as many practicals as they can. By this way the next gen students becomes more friendly with practical things.
  • MegaByte
    MegaByte
    Every university have to changed their systems and have to add the as many practicals as they can. By this way the next gen students becomes more friendly with practical things.