The Search of an Accidental (Non-Engineer) Entrepreneur

Who am I and what I do:
I am a former corporate lawyer turned entrepreneur - I have an education startup which enables Indian universities and industry bodies to launch online courses. I had helped Fortune 500 companies and private equity investors invest in Indian companies, but am now involved in teaching practical aspects of different sides of law to entrepreneurs, managers, engineers and students, through e-learning.

Why I want to join Crazy Engineers:

I happened to chance across this forum and was so amazed by the kind of topics and level of discussion around startups, that I got hooked and wanted to join this forum myself.

I am connected with the entrepreneur circuit and forums such as Startup Saturday. Have taken speaking gigs at Barcamp and some engineering institutions around NCR region, but still want to interact with young engineers and entrepreneurs!

Although I am not an engineer, I love startups and find interacting with engineers quite energetic - I have found a common tendency in many to achieve solutions to problems through codes, which makes them naturally entrepreneurial. I find this approach is really lacking in people who are studying other disciplines. This has of course made me gravitate towards engineers in a big way!

It's been two years since I started working full-time on my startup. Since the past year I have been interacting much more with engineers, as we took around 50 workshops around NCR Delhi jointly with IIT-Delhi's EDC. In my college, I had helped an IIT-incubated venture secure venture capital funding, and after starting up we have many engineering students from IIT, BITs and other institutions studying a business law course we conduct and learning about negotiation, venture capital, intellectual property and other practical issues.

Passions: E-learning, startups, trekking, travelling, meditation

Look forward to interacting with the Crazy Engineers community!

Replies