The LIKE Button epidemic and stupid generation.

This all started from Facebook.

I have been boiling in the inside for a few months now. Two months ago I told some of my friends I will never "Like" any status from now on but reply with a comment. I did but I got "Likes" on the comments I made...

In plain and simple terms clicking the Like button means you are a lazy child who cannot add anything intelligent to a conversation. It is a complete disregard for the original message and the poster.

Now I see this on Crazyengineers forums. It is an insult to engineers and the forum.

"You know the LC circuit shown here can bypass above 12 MHz but I am still not sure on its exact envelope."
[โ€‹IMG]JohnSmith Likes this.
Are you kidding me JohnSmith? You Like the post? Could you not tell me if the information I have given is right or wrong? You could just re enforce the point I made. You can point us to a new idea. At least you can encourage all of us on the whole process. Or can keep your finger off the like button.

So my question is do you think the Like button is creating a generation of stupid and lazy people?

Replies

• durga ch
    durga ch
    i was irked by like button on CE as everyone were using it to 'like' non -engineering stuff.

Before, we take this discussion further, i think I know why a like button was introduced. In every thread before introdcing the 'like' button, there were too many number of spam posts, like "thanks!", " you did wonderful"," this is awesome" and what not which did not contribute for the discussion. In order to reduce such posts , 'like' button eas introduced so that the threads contain only relevant contributions and not appreciations and other irrelevant stuff.

but its again, admin's call how to handle it
  • Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare