suggestions regarding sponsorship of techfest

hi CEans,

i am a 2nd year student and trying my best to get some good sponsorship for my colleges upcoming tech-fest. i dont have any contacts or any such thing in any software firm or any such company and probably that is why i havent got any positive response from anywhere.
So if you guys have anything to advice or suggest me to approach a company just like that , then please do.

i really need some real good tips.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Best person to answer your query is our own CEan-KGV. KGV has organized lot of events in his college and can surely help you with this.

KGV, what suggestions do you have for DEP? ๐Ÿ˜€

-The Big K-
    ps:
    Moving the thread to 'General Help' section ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Kartik Vyas
    Kartik Vyas
    Hi DEP,
    I must say that it is a difficult job to get sponsorship but at the same time it teaches you a lot. Believe me the satisfaction that you get after you bag a sponsorship is something which can not be explained. Anyway here are some of the tips that I can offer. These are based on my experience.
    1. Remember you will get a lot of rejections, it is not the number of rejections that matters but the number of successfull deals that matter in the end.
    2. Have a good structured approach towards tapping the sponsors, make sure that the same sponsor is not approached twice by two different groups it reflects poorly on the sponsorship seeker's part.
    3. If you can afford to have some information (about your festival) printed get it done. Printed information always adds credibility.
    4. Have the rates for the sponsorship predecided and get a rate card printed.
    5. When you approach the sponsor please highlight what benefits he stands to get if he goes ahead with sponsoring the event. A sponsor hardly cares about how good the level of participants is and all that unless he is to make some gains.