Suggest a system Laptop or Desktop

Hello guys,

I had a laptop and its not there now! so no issues about that!

I want to buy a system now ,

My usage:
1. I use atleast 5-6 hrs perday on weekdays and about 15 hrs on weekends.
2. I will install QTP , Selenium (these are testing tools)
3. I will install all browsers (mozilla , IE , chrome etc etc)
4. I have to install UNIX as well.
5. Most importantly I will not require it when I go somewhere!
6. I will use eclipse as well. (its new so i dont know how much memory it consumes)
7. I will play NFS also ๐Ÿ˜‰

So suggest me what is best in terms of price and usage perspective.

I mean whether go for desktop or laptop?

Ram configuration and all!! I am not very good at naming them!

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    I personally strongly suggest a desktop if your usage is that long. Also I'd suggest you to opt for a bigger screen.

Minimum RAM required for all your work is 2 GB (I guess its a standard these days) and you need at least 350 GB of HDD. Processor - doesn't make much of a difference to me, because any damn processor gets the work done. However, for gaming, you will need a good graphics card, so go with NVIDIA ๐Ÿ˜ (min 256 MB)

I'd suggest an Inspiron desktop from Dell. I've been totally happy with what I got. 21" screen is beautiful!
    yes,a desktop is better as per your usage
    Gateway SX2840-01 is i think the best i have seen. does not provides a monitor but take a look

price-about rs 25,000
    CPU- 2.93GHz Intel Core i3-530
    Memory -6GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    Graphics -64MB (shared) Intel GMA X4500 integrated graphics chip
    Hard drives -1TB, 7,200rpm
    Optical drive -dual-layer DVD burner
    Networking -Gigabit Ethernet
  • Saandeep Sreerambatla
    Saandeep Sreerambatla
    I tried for the above system at Hyderabad and found that it is not available ๐Ÿ˜”

Anyway Inspiron is also very good choice thanks biggie ๐Ÿ˜€