php and xammp server

Hello everyone!

I am new to php language.
I want to know if we install xammp server on our pc . Is there any need to install php 5.5.1 or any other version through php.net and mysql for data base or simply start work on the editor in simple php and sql language having xammp installed??I am much confused upon it.. Can someone help me about it????

The second question is i have made a form and action="form.php" and when i click the submit button it moves to form.php but does not provide the end result which is being fetched from the text area. as form.html is another page and form.php is another page residing with html page location and a;so in htdocs folder in xammp.. Plz help me..

Replies

• Nayan Goenka
    Nayan Goenka
    No you don't need to separately install them. Make sure you have the latest xampp server installed.

For the form action, Can you post the action script here? Which method are you using to collect the data?
  • Vicky One
    Vicky One
    HTML CODE

form.htm<br />

What is your name?

PHP CODE/////

form.php

welcome.Your name is:
    echo $_POST["fname"];
    ?>

The result comes// welcome.Your name is:

and please also tell me the location of these two files if form.htm is placed in a folder on desktop and form.php in htdocs of xammp. is it necassary to have a copy of form.php within same folder as form.htm. I have done both cases but it does not work..it does not show name written in text area of form.
  • Nayan Goenka
    Nayan Goenka
    You have to keep both the files in the same directory. Only the files inside the htdocs folder are available or lets say part of the server. All of the related files have to be there. I will test your code in my own system and get back to you with the solution. 😀
  • Vicky One
    Vicky One
    ok thx
  • Vicky One
    Vicky One
    form.html

Form 

whta is your favourite author name?

form.php

form.php

welcome.Your name is:
    echo $_POST["fname"];
    ?>

NOw i have:​