OS wars!!

Which one is your favorite operating system and any special reason of being favorite?

Mine is Windows maybe coz I never used any other.😉

Replies

• desijays
    desijays
    i love a linux box. Command line heaven. Just a bunch of white characters on a black background. But with linux, its hard to get device drivers for particular hardware.

Thats the only part that windows excels...
  • aashima
    aashima
    I too would go for Linux OS. A perfectly clean interface and all functions in one single window. The only thing that restricts its popularity in the masses is that its not user friendly. One has to be known to it and its complete command tutorial to get started with it. But gives you a technical interface to work on.
    Though Windows is a user friendly OS with the distinguished feature of WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get). It can easily be handled by a non-techie person or a complete novice.
  • Prasad Ajinkya
    Prasad Ajinkya
    Well, I would not agree with the user friendly part! Has anyone checked out the Ubuntu release, or even Mandrake for that matter. Its one of the easiest OS installs thats out there! Believe me, even Windows installation is a pain in the a$$ compared to these two.

Have you checked out Knoppix (the Debian variant)? Well, imagine an OS that boots from a CD and doesnt need any partitions to run on per se. How cool is that, put in the CD and it boots by itself. It will take Windows eons before it achieves this kind of flexibility/power/simplicity. Frankly, I dont think Windows will every achieve this.

The main problem with Windows was that they were flawed from the word go, and they kept on building on this flawed version. If your base is not rock solid, then you will always end up with a pile of crap 😀.

Linux rawks!!

PS - 4 years back, I was a windows fan ... then I used Linux.
  • aashima
    aashima