My next PC won't have BIOS

My next computer won't have BIOS. It will have "UEFI" instead, according to:
Change to 'Bios' will make for PCs that boot in seconds - BBC News

Replies

• Morningdot Hablu
    Morningdot Hablu
    I don't think so....Ya there is the improvement in the booting time.
    But because booting time does not only depend on the BIOS.
    During the booting time you have to load the system files from your hard disk.So I think synchronised hard disk may solve this issue.
    But i don't think BIOS matters a lot.
    I just said what i think...!!
    I am still a student so may be i am wrong somewhere..Correct me if i am wrong somewhere...!!
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    I remember starting a thread on Instant On Operating System. Why has no one worked on eliminating the long boot times of computers? 😐
  • sushant005
    sushant005
    hmm... but i Don't think that Synchronized Hard Disk reduce the booting time because at the time of formatting it work same as the unsynchronized hard Disk but ya it arrange the file in sequentially rather then randomly. IF there is any Synchronized concept then it would only used to reduce the searching time.

this is what i think!
    Do me correct if i m wrong at any point.
  • Morningdot Hablu
    Morningdot Hablu
    No no not formating sushant i am talking about booting.
    While you boot an OS your RAM searched your hard disk for system files like IO.SIS,MS.SIS,COMMAND.COM...but in hard disk your files are not arranged in synchronised.
    So that's why you have to search for a particular file but if you have a synchronised hard disk this searching time for every file is skiped.
    And then you have less time to boot any os.
    But till now no one find a synchronised hard disk.
    Correct me if i am wrong anywhere..!!
  • sushant005
    sushant005
    oh ya Mohit i got it . ya it would be easy if there is any concept of Synchronized hard Disk. It surely going to reduce the booting time.