MS in Software Engineering post work experience

Hi guys

Am interested in doing MS in Software Engineering in the US or UK. I am a software engineer with 4.5 years of experience with my under graduation in electrical electronics engineering.

1) Is it worth doing an MS in software engineering in US or UK? Would it be rewarding in terms of both career prospects and earnings?

2) I prefer UK as many of the top ones provide one-year curriculum. But I would like you to counter my preference with your opinions and suggestions too.

3) What are the entrance requirements (like GRE, etc) to apply to the universities?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    1. Yes, it's worth doing MS course. However, you'll have to study a bit on the types of jobs and salary typical MS grads get. From what I gather, UK is bit costlier than US.

2. Think about the job prospects first - as it seems to be your top priority. MS from US is more popular because of greater job opportunities.

3. You'd typically require GRE and TOEFL score.
  • nithinoncrazyeng
    nithinoncrazyeng
    Thanks mate. I have a mediocre aggregate of 78% in my UG. Does it matter? Plus should I get recommendation letters from my university or is it enough if I get it from my workplace?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    nithinoncrazyeng
    Thanks mate. I have a mediocre aggregate of 78% in my UG. Does it matter? Plus should I get recommendation letters from my university or is it enough if I get it from my workplace?