JavaScript Vs. CoffeeScript : Which one would you prefer?

I'm sure you might have heard about CoffeeScript. As the official description of coffeescript goes, it's a tiny language that compiles into Javascript. This new language aims to expose and utilise JSs' object model. If anyone's interested in knowing more about it, head over to: CoffeeScript .

Now, I'm not a JavaScript coder but I'm interested in knowing who among you is adopting the Coffeescript over Javascript. What generates my interest in CS? Well, the Dropbox engineering team rewrote the entire browser side codebase from JavaScript to Coffeescript within a week.

Share your reasons for adopting / not-adopting the coffeescript.

Replies

• Prasad Ajinkya
    Prasad Ajinkya
    If I had a custom JS codebase, I might think about migrating to CS (provided the compiled JS output is auto-minified and produces the best code for that purpose).

However, since most of us are using third party scripts almost all the time, why would I take the trouble to learn one more language (which is more confounding than Javascript)?

Lastly, most of us use JS for simple things really. Our aim is not to write an uber function ... its almost always to do with some sort of validation or form submissions!! So why look at a language which makes JS OOP-based?
  • Harish Kotra
    Harish Kotra
    JS will always be my choice and I totally agree with kidakaka. He told whatever I wanted to 😛
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    kidakaka
    If I had a custom JS codebase, I might think about migrating to CS (provided the compiled JS output is auto-minified and produces the best code for that purpose).

However, since most of us are using third party scripts almost all the time, why would I take the trouble to learn one more language (which is more confounding than Javascript)?