Is BE+MBA a better saleable combination today?

Is BE+MBA a better saleable combination today?

This is one of the topics I have been debating around for more than 4 years now. Although if you ask me the current market trend, the combination is a super-hit with all the recruiters. But personally, I never felt that by being an engineer, you inherit some qualities of a succesful manager.

Before we go to that level, lets first talk about why an engineer tends to digress from a technical career to a managent career, although I'm myself an engineer and an MBA. But believe me, I did this simply to follow the trend. I never went into the nitty-gritties of the "BE+MBA advantages" story, and when asked in the interviews, i told them that I wanted to diversify my knowledge repository. Moreover, I audaciously told them that I believe BE+MBA is a better saleable product today. I managed to trick one of the many interviews I gave and finally became "The better saleable product."

I happened to put this question infront of my HR the other day and they gave me a fairly believable answer. They said that engineers have a analytical bend to their thinking. This is because they are taught to be solution oriented and not process oriented. Hence an engineer with good knowledge of management is more productive than a person with entirely management back ground. So this "BE+MBA" which was once touted as a rare species is fast becoming a generic profile.

I have some interesting experiences and answers to share with CEans, but let me have some views from you all before hand so that I can put them on platter.

So shoot back!

Replies

• Romeos_person
    Romeos_person
    In my experience, as you progress through your engineering career you have to choose between management and technical.