Innovations in motorcycle design

[This post comes from an electrical engineer who's a complete newbie to the world of automobiles & therefore his questions might look 'too basic']

With that disclaimer, I'll put my questions straight -

I haven't seen any innovative designs when it comes to the motorcycles. Every year, Honda / Yamaha / TVS / Kinetic & Bajaj folks introduce new motorcycles, with only the 'fiber' body changed [my observation].

For example, Hero Honda is advertising its latest 'Hunk' motorcycle in India. I don't see anything new except a new headlight and few extra plastic parts here and there 😁 .

So, is there anything new in these motorcycles? Can Automobile, Mechanical folks throw some light?

Replies

• rishisolanki
    rishisolanki
    ya i might can tell u
    very new techonolgy is the ELECTRONIC FUEL INJECTION in bikes like hero honda Glamour PGMFI and Bajaj Pulsar DTS-FI. This technology has replaced the traditional mechanical carburetors with the electronic ones
    Also in bajaj there is a newer technology which is DTS-SI digital twin spark swirl induction used in BAJAJ XCD derived from the mother technology of DTS-I digital twin spark swirl ignition
    u can find out more on this on BAJAJ's website
  • gohm
    gohm
    Firstly, what a great site! Here goes for post number 1 on my favorite subject, motorcycles.

Although maybe not a lot of major design changes in motorcycles, there have been component changes just as automobiles. Fuel injection, shaft drive, single-sided swingarm, anti-lock brakes, hydraulic clutch, linked brakes, telever front suspension & underseat gas tank (bmw), fuel & oil storage in frame (buell), traction control (race bikes only currently) & "engine as the frame" design. Not to mention led lighting & computer display panels.

John
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    gohm
    Firstly, what a great site! Here goes for post number 1 on my favorite subject, motorcycles.