How to use time constructively before joining date?

I am a Civil Engineering graduate and already have a job in my desired domain. However, I also have a couple of months before the joining date and I was wondering how I should use it constructively. Any ideas on this?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    First of all, congratulations and welcome again (you haven't been very active). Everyone's definition of 'constructive' is different; so you are bound do get multiple advices here.

Some of the constructive things you may do:-
    • Backpack to a new place either within or out of the country.
    • Get into sports or any activity that you can later develop into a hobby. Will stay with you all your life.
    • Read through all your engineering books for fun. This is going to refresh all your basics and ensure that your entry into the professional world is smooth.
    • Learn a programming language for fun.
    • Get active on the Internet that does not include Facebook, Twitter and other social networks.
    • Learn CAD / CAM
    • Take a course on public speaking, soft skills etc. Even if you're good at it; you can always learn something new.
  • Tushar92
    Tushar92
    Hello sir,
    Thanks for the ideas. I didn't find discussions that could interest me, that's why wasn't much active. I do visit the website at least once a day to read through the forums
    I will try most of the things you mentioned except maybe reading engineering books again 😛
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Tushar92
    except maybe reading engineering books again 😛
    That's why I said - read them for fun. When I look at my engineering books now, everything looks very interesting. I'm surprised I thought electrical machines was the most boring subject for electrical engineers.

All the best.

PS: If you don't find discussions interesting to you; start one. 😁

You are reading an archived discussion.

Related Posts