How To Password Protect WiFi Connection ? Noob here.

I bought Asus DSL N10E, Wireless Router. I have set up it with NO security.
Can anyone teach me how to secure it with password (WPA/WPA2 , WPE, whatever!) ?

snapshot29

What to do in here ?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    No security means anyone within the wireless range of your router will be able to connect - and consume the data and bandwidth meant for you. For the screen that you've pasted, I'd recommend -

1. 2.4 GHz (Better Range)
    2. SSID -> Abhishek's Wi-Fi or any other name that you want your wireless connection to show.
    3. Encryption: WPA2 should do.
    4. WPA-PSK (Pre Shared Key) - Enter a keyword that the network will ask you when you connect. Don't keep it too complex; but keep it something that you can easily remember. Typing complicated passwords on phone is difficult. But it's a one time job!
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    Thanks a lot. Doing it & giving feedback asap.
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    #-Link-Snipped-# There are two WPA : 1) WPA2 (AES) 2) WPA2 (TKIP)
    or WPA/WPA2 ?
    Which one to select ?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Abhishek Rawal
    #-Link-Snipped-# There are two WPA : 1) WPA2 (AES) 2) WPA2 (TKIP)
    or WPA/WPA2 ?
    Which one to select ?
    WPA 2 (AES) .
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    alrighty done. Thanks.
  • Gollapinni Karthik Sharma
    Gollapinni Karthik Sharma
    WPA2( AES ) for higher security and encrypting your data and password
  • Anoop Kumar
    Anoop Kumar
    Disable SSID broadcasting.
    Whatever device you want to connect you need to enter SSID/password manually.

You are reading an archived discussion.

Related Posts

i'm going to do my college level project.so i m having some doubts abt the amplifier and its principles..so guys help me to clear my doubts.. 1.can we use an...