How Is The Depth Of Foundation Calculated?

Okay, you know I'm an electrical engineer who plays with software. But I'm curious to know how the depth of foundation is calculated. Logically, it should be directly proportional to the height of the construction. But with that logic, super tall structures would need a super deep foundation. πŸ˜€

Replies

• Karan Avad
    Karan Avad
    it depends upon various factors like the type of soil, function of the building, wind loads, which earthquake zone the building is to built in, and the depth of underground water table. What I'm wondering is why an electrical engineer needs to know about foundations ? Personally, I'll tell Foundation Engineering is the most boring subject amongst all the civil subjects.. πŸ˜‰

Also, I would like to tell you one thing about your logic. Depth does not depend upon height. In fact more height means more loads coming on the soil which means greater area required at the base. strength depends on width of base rather than depth. πŸ˜€
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Curiosity, my friend. I'm interested in everything.
  • Karan Avad
    Karan Avad
    Well. Must praise your curiosity then, for starting from the foundations.. πŸ˜‰ Though I have not been of much help with foundations, Do contact when you reach to the slab level. That's my area of interest.. πŸ˜› Will be waiting.. 😁
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    First of all, I don't know what kind of questions I may have about the slab. Happened to pass by a construction site that was preparing the foundation and the question struck my mind.
  • Anant Jalgaonkar
    Anant Jalgaonkar