How does a pully work?

This might be a basic question for the Mechanical Engineers. Can anyone explain how does a pully reduce mechanical effort?

Thanks,
Rick

Replies

• aashima
    aashima
    let me try.

rick
    This might be a basic question for the Mechanical Engineers. Can anyone explain how does a pully reduce mechanical effort?

Thanks,
    Rick
    i guess its somewhere related to dynamic physics.
    it could be explained as : rolling friction is less in magnitude than the sliding friction i.e. moving a body from one place to another is easier if somehow we convert its motion into rolling one rather than sliding horizontally.
    pulley is based on the same principle... it works in rolling motion hence effort reduced.
    that was an idea i could recollect from the basics of physics i studied in my 11th std. do correct me if i am wrong.
  • instruite
    instruite
    #-Link-Snipped-#
    the above link may be helpful
  • krishnpr
    krishnpr
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Please read the above link
  • Jerry
    Jerry
    krishnpr
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Please read the above link
    That's a nice link, very informative. Thanks!

Jerry
  • harddisk_techie
    harddisk_techie
    Imagine that you have the arrangement of a 100 pound (45.4 kilogram) weight suspended from a rope, as shown below:

In the above figure, if you are going to suspend the weight in the air then you have to apply an upward force of 100 pounds to the rope. If the rope is 100 feet (30.5 meters) long and you want to lift the weight up 100 feet, you have to pull in 100 feet of rope to do it. This is simple and obvious.
    Now imagine that you add a pulley to the mix, as shown below:

Does this change anything? Not really. The only thing that changes is the direction of the force you have to apply to lift the weight. You still have to apply 100 pounds of force to keep the weight suspended, and you still have to reel in 100 feet of rope in order to lift the weight 100 feet.