Electronics potting and trace ampacity

Hi everyone, this is my first post on this forum - I happened to stumble upon it and it seemed like I may be able to get some answers I've been looking for here. I am a high school student currently working on an underwater robot, and I had some concerns:

1. I am looking to pot my electronics for my underwater ROV in a super hard 4 to 1 epoxy resin. Someone told me that if potting is what I want to do, that's the way to go. What are your opinions on this?

2. I am looking into buying a custom PCB for my electronics. I have already designed it, and my only concern is about the capacity of the traces. I will be running up to 10 amps through 1 or 2 of the traces, and up to 3 amps through some of the others. Will I need to specify a heavier copper or thicker traces for this? I will not be running any current through the traces for a sustained amount of time. Maybe thirty minutes at the most, and during that time the usage will be sporadic.

EDIT: I have just modified my PCB design to include 3.81mm traces with 2 oz copper for the traces carrying a high current. If it would be helpful, I could post my design - I designed it in the Pad2Pad software and the suffix is ".pcb".

Thanks, Jacy

Replies

• Rifaa
    Rifaa
    Hmm, you are right with high current tracing, It will be safe if you could use thick copper wires to route the traces, just to be on safe side if you a potting the PCB.
    I suggest that you run the PCB at it's peak load without potting and in an sealed environment typical to the environment the PCB will be once in water resistant resin.
    If you use high grade potting that can insulate and transfer heat to the out side, it will be best. If not, the traces and the components should not over heat in a sealed environment.
    Test it thoroughly and seal the PCB, cause once sealed you cannot melt the potting easily to rectify any fault.
    I like to see what you are doing, the theory and Pictures too if you can 😀