Designing Social Networking Website

I am a final year student and i wish to design a social networking site. I would like to know which language can i use for the same. Also let me know a brief idea about the front end and back end to be used in the social networking site.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Typically, the choice of language is decided by the features you're trying to implement. I'd recommend Ruby programming language with Rails framework.

Not exactly sure what you're looking for about 'front end' and 'back end'. Are you looking for ideas about features? Or are you looking for the choice of Javascript libraries (front end) and database systems (back end) ?
  • Mayuri Karnik
    Mayuri Karnik
    The_Big_K
    Typically, the choice of language is decided by the features you're trying to implement. I'd recommend Ruby programming language with Rails framework.

Not exactly sure what you're looking for about 'front end' and 'back end'. Are you looking for ideas about features? Or are you looking for the choice of Javascript libraries (front end) and database systems (back end) ?
    I want the basic features such as chat, emailing, blogging,etc.
    And by front end i mean the user interface to be used such as java script libraries and back end in which we actually design the site.
  • Neeraj Sharma
    Neeraj Sharma
    Back End can be anything. Go for the technology you are familiar with. Being a BTech student, I think you will be aware of Oracle so just connect your front end with Oracle. Making a social networking website is fun. Make the front end using html/css/javascript and connect it with the back end. You can also go for .NET as it provides an easier way of designing but if you want to go to the core of coding, then use java..
  • Neeraj Sharma
    Neeraj Sharma
    Mayuri Karnik
    I want the basic features such as chat, emailing, blogging,etc.