Career advise

I am 35 years old having almost 11 years of experience in IT and currently working as technical lead

I scored average in academics, I am not smart thinker and my firends says I am gullible

I am not good in General Knowledge and since I grown up in small town , I was only aware of engineer and doctor being as career options

I did B.Tech in computers and scored 66.1 % with paid seat

After completing my college , I did not allow to sit in any campus interview because I scored below 60% in 10th and 12th

Initially I worked in non IT firm for 1 year and then managed to get into IT

Being a developer I worked hard and received client appreciations but down the line I realized that I am not smart and I put extra efforts in doing tasks

I am currently married and have daughter of 4.5 years

I am always fond of travelling abroad and earn lot of money but my parents are quite old, I think the only good option to earn money in less time is going onsite in IT

There is currently no onsite opportunity for me in my company

Currently at this stage of my career I am feeling like life is survival with only 10% hike per year

Sometimes I think I am not suitable for IT, may be I should have done MBA and at current stage it seems quite difficult to change the field

Can someone please help advise me

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - Welcome to CrazyEngineers and thank you for sharing your current situation with us.

I think having survived in IT industry for over a decade is an indicator that you're above average in everything. While you've explained your current situation very well, you have not mentioned the problems you are facing. Is it that you are unhappy with the pay and are looking for ways to make more money? Or is it that you want to know about possibilities of going abroad and maybe working there?

Vaibhav_it