About Job of a Mechanical Engineer

Dear all..

Il start by my introduction : I am a a mechanical engineering graduate, with average passing marks. I am currently working as a manager, and have no hands on practical experience.

My question is to all the Mechanical engineer's out there. On payroll, on the job, working, partime, maintenance, HVAC, sales, etc... anywhere in India.

I want to know what's the job of a mechanical engineer, in a manufacturing facility? After learning a plethora of information on Designing, how can i add up to a unit in manufacturing? how to boost production targets, how to apply what ive learnt.
How many of you remember exactly everything you learn in college. and if you do remember everything, how do you apply that into practical uses? could anyone state any examples?

Let me start by stating one :

Our company hired a consultant to design the HVAC system in the manufacturing facility. I joined a few months back, so i was not updated on the current scenario of the design. But he had all the designs of the facility and layout of the facility on paper. I understood parts of it, and parts of it were unclear. nevertheless, i didn’t give it much importance, cuz that would be something i had to sit and discuss with the person. what hit me more badly was a simple decision that had to be made regarding the Pump selection.

We wanted the chiller water to be received from pipes, which are installed and ruining inside a false ceiling, But, it required a higher pump capacity. Picture this : the pump is installed at ground level. it has to go 20m above ground level, and then though the falls ceiling, the chilled water is supposed to flow into the machine at around 5m from ground.
So not only capillary action wood play a role here, there would be sufficient loss of pressure at the topmost position, and who knows, and careful attention had to be paid to the Flow-rate.