a month for GRE?

Hi, I am a software professional with an experience of 7 years and I need to give the GRE because I am applying for a course at IIM.

I need to fill the application form of the course and submit the form by end of January. For that, I am keen to give the GRE asap. I think, at best, I am left with 40 days in which I can prepare for it.

I would seek your suggestions on 1) which book to use for this 2) info on how early people have got their online result scoresheet. I need to have my scoresheet when I submit the application forms at the IIMs.

I have bought Barrons but based on what I read here, It isn't that great a choice. Also, I noticed that the book has no vocab/wordlist section. Is there another book for that?

It would be great if you can advice me. I come with high hopes. I need to prepare for this, despite my hectic schedule here in Bangalore and need to have a decent score.

This looks a great community. Please help! Thank you much!

- aditya

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    Hi aditya,

Regarding Books, these threads might be useful -

#-Link-Snipped-#
    #-Link-Snipped-#
    #-Link-Snipped-#

The wordlist has been removed from the new Barrons because synonyms, antonyms & analogies have been removed in the new GRE.

But if you still want to go through it, the best choice is go for an older edition of Barrons.

Regarding scoresheet, I will have to find that out.
  • silverscorpion
    silverscorpion
    For the new pattern of GRE, word lists won't help much. You just need to be able to infer the meaning of words in based on context.

As for preparation, I think 40 days of good preparation is certainly adequate, even more so if you are strong in maths. The quants section of GRE will be a cakewalk if you are good in maths.

And about scores, if you take the exam after November 29, scores should be available in about 10 - 15 days.

#-Link-Snipped-#

A#-Link-Snipped-#ll the best!! 😀
  • adityeah
    adityeah