A list of simple devices/machines I can make during the school holidays?

Hello everybody.
I am a first year engineering student! And I'm looking for some simple machines/devices or anything hands-on that I can make at home during the holidays ๐Ÿ˜€

Why am I doing this? You may ask.
Well, because I am itching to apply the new things I've learnt in physics and my other science subjects, and I want to well, make things, I am curious about how things work and I would love to start building machines and contraptions and what not! Concepts are best learnt when applied ๐Ÿ˜›

When I talk about simple devices/machines, I don't mean your average levers, or pulleys, I mean something like a popsicle catapult (which is the only thing I can of right now - so you can see how little ideas I have right now). But not a robot either, because I don't think I'm up for that just quite yet.

Feel free to share your suggestions, the more original (yet practical), the better ๐Ÿ˜€

Thanks!

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# We love thy spirit. This thread is itself a mark of a true crazy engineer. Welcome to CE community. Be an active member and keep posting.

Tagging #-Link-Snipped-# #-Link-Snipped-# #-Link-Snipped-# #-Link-Snipped-# here.
  • Ambarish Ganesh
    Ambarish Ganesh
    Hey Pandamon! ๐Ÿ˜€

During my First Year, I had devised a mechanical vehicle which had a fan on top, and as the vehicle moved- it rotated the fan along. I thought this would keep me cool during summer! ๐Ÿ˜› If interested, let me know, I'll share the trick with you! Have fun! ๐Ÿ‘
  • pandamon
    pandamon
    Punch_a_Tantra
    Hey Pandamon! ๐Ÿ˜€

During my First Year, I had devised a mechanical vehicle which had a fan on top, and as the vehicle moved- it rotated the fan along. I thought this would keep me cool during summer! ๐Ÿ˜› If interested, let me know, I'll share the trick with you! Have fun! ๐Ÿ‘
    Hey there Punch_a_Tantra! ๐Ÿ˜€