6 stroke engine

I am a mechanical engineering student and wish to know how a 6 stroke engine works. I would appreciate any help from the experts. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Did you search the forums?
  • gohm
    gohm
    Yep, do a search as we've chatted about these previously. Then if you have any ideas or qustions please post it!
  • Owusu Buabeng
    Owusu Buabeng
    A six stroke engine is an engine having 6 cylinders (ie six combustion chambers). Each cykinder is connected to the crank shaft. it has different firing order for the cylinders ensuring a continuos supply of power and a relief of mechanical stresses on the engine.
  • prabakarnaidu
    prabakarnaidu
    Is a 6 stroke engine a V6 engine?
  • gohm
    gohm
    No, a v-6 is a engine configuration with cylinders (six of them) in a "v" formation. Stroke refers to the cycle of the combustion process. Most engines are 4 stroke (or 4 cycle). there are also 2 stroke engineswhich are fairly common. A 6 stroke engine adds another complete movement of the piston to a standard four stroke. Usually it involves water/steam to both cool the cylinder and also provide more power. Do a search in this forum as we've discussed it previously as well.
  • prabakarnaidu
    prabakarnaidu
    Thankz for the info gohm!
  • ilu_arya58
    ilu_arya58
    some one give me idea to see it pls!!😒
  • anand017
    anand017
    thanks Owusu Buabeng,
    Information provided by u was really useful . but i think is no where related to NUMBER OF CYLINDER.....and one of the doubt that i have is about its working... i am not much clear with it... so please provide me some sites or video...
    thanks...
  • anand017
    anand017
    ilu_arya58
    some one give me idea to see it pls!!😒
    What idea u want dude????
  • gaganjot singh
    gaganjot singh
    actually i want to kno abt the timing in 6 stroke engine for the additonal 2 strokes...........how will it work
  • rubyking