Writen communication. Is it that important?

EMAIL! I have an account, whats a BIG DEAL!

Yeh, I agree, if that statement was made by one of my friends.

All thanks #-Link-Snipped-# for motivating to write on this topic as I read one of her topics where she wanted some one to lead on personality development of engineers.

Cool!. To people who do not know about my background, I was a Metal Fabricator, a professional autocad Designer, certified welder in 2G, 3G and 4G welding..... lol thats not what airtel claims that they will pay your bill if any slower than 3g speeds.......

But on a serious note, I am an aspiring programmer like most of you who post " Where to Start programming".

I had a short career in Metal fabrication and soon I realized thats not the career I want. So I moved to a US medical billing company and everything changed from there.

My present organization is basically into development of softwares for Dr's in U.S, so that they can get their claim paid. We also have set of people who work on denials on claims to ensure that our Drs get paid.

Its been just 2 years with this organization, but I hold a critical position of interacting with our clients or so called DR!.

CLIENTS! not friends and they arent always available on phone. Then what do I do?

Bingo! you got it right, I should email them.

Yeh Yeh........ just another email describing our problem.

STOP THERE!

There are lot of things considered when you draft an email. Would it have be my friend, I might have understood. But when you interact with person who does not understand your culture, how do you expect him to understand the content?

We Indians are programmed to "Read Between the Lines". I don't understand Malyalam, but when I see a movie in that language, I am able to conclude or at least speculate what's going on. Ever wondered why? because we read between the lines and the conclusion may not be what we desired.