Wireless On/Off Switch

Hey guys, I'm new here.

I am looking to make my own wireless switches, by having a transmitter and receiver. I know I need to use some sort of modulation, but I am a beginner in design still, and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions. Here is what I need it to do:

1. Work over 50ft

2. Powered by 5 or 12 volts

3. Low cost

The application to this is home automation. I will have a microcontroller connected to a router. The outputs on the microcontroller will drive the transmitters. On the receiving end, the receiver would pick up the signal and either activate or deactivate a relay (120v such as a light bulb). The devices in the house would be turned on and off using an android device.

Please let me know if you have advice. (and yes I have looked into X-10, but I want to make my own)

Replies

• Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    You can use RFM70 or RFM22 modules its communication is SPI based and i've implement same system using these. Let me know if you need any more information.
  • Chebyshev
    Chebyshev
    These are similar to XBees, I agree they are cheaper, but at $10 a piece it's still not in my budget, I was looking into building my own from scratch, since I have access to parts, such as crystals, caps, resistors, and pcb etching machine.
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    Okey I thought use of RFM70 or RFM22 makes your system more reliable as you can add your own protocol and communication frequency.

for low cost i think you have to give a try to RFM60 as a Transmitter mostly use as a remote and RFM83 as a Receiver. working on 434MHz
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    Okey I thought use of RFM70 or RFM22 makes your system more reliable as you can add your own protocol and communication frequency.

for low cost i think you have to give a try to RFM60 as a Transmitter mostly use as a remote and RFM83 as a Receiver. working on 434MHz
  • Chebyshev
    Chebyshev