What is Recession?

I want to know what recession really mean. I understand that it affects the economy which results in unemployment. We faced IT recession right? Is it possible in other fields too?

Replies

• Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    the recessive period is one in which the value of money falls due to familiarty or over feeding any economy with monetary ip in any form that can pull down the economy itself

here there is another portrayal also it is a period where there is surplus money but the value of it is very minimum when compared to non recessive periods
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    I'm no economic expert. But I've always believed that recession is a collective 'fear' that people have. First we hear there's a recession in the market and then we start saving. When we spend lesser, the prices of the goods fall down; which results into more people believing that there indeed is a recession and the overall money supply in the market is lesser. That leads to the cascading effect. The corporations use recession as a mechanism to get rid of the overheads in the name of cost cutting.

But we humans can't just store money for long times. When a few months are passed, we tend to get into the markets and start buying; and then the economy gets back on track.

Recession, I believe is just a state of mind of larger number of people all over the world.
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    in reality it is a cycle driven as rightly said by the big k as fear

but the fall in value of money is not only due to less spending but also due to excessive spending
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    jeffrey samuel
    in reality it is a cycle driven as rightly said by the big k as fear
    but the fall in value of money is not only due to less spending but also due to excessive spending