What is a box filter?

I am currently studying feature detectors and descriptors, and when reading about SURF, I read that it uses box filters and applies them to integral images. What exactly are box filters and what is the difference between a box filter and a regular filter? where do the term BOX come from?

Replies

• rukawa
    rukawa
    Does anyone know what a box filter is?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    rukawa
    Does anyone know what a box filter is?
    A little more information would definitely suffice. I did a search and found a paper that might be relevant. I've absolutely no idea what it's talking about, though: #-Link-Snipped-#
  • aarav sharma
    aarav sharma
    Box filtering is basically an average-of-surrounding-pixel kind of image filtering. It is actually a convolution filter which is a commonly used mathematical operation for image filtering. A convolution filters provide a method of multiplying two arrays to produce a third one. In box filtering, image sample and the filter kernel are multiplied to get the filtering result. The filter kernel is like a description of how the filtering is going to happen, it actually defines the type of filtering. The power of box filtering is one can write a general image filter that can do sharpen, emboss, edge-detect, smooth, motion-blur, etcetera. Provided approriate filter kernel is used.

Now that I probably had wet your appetite let us see further the coolness of box filtering and its filter kernel. A filter kernel defines filtering type, but what exactly is it? Think of it as a fixed size small box or window larger than a pixel. Imagine that it slides over the sample image through all positions. While doing so, it constantly calculates the average of what it sees through its window.