What are the GMAT Changes From 2012?

GMAC plans to make big changes to GMAT exam from 2012.

Overall the exams timing is retained the same in spite of addition of new integrated reasoning section. This new section will replace one of the two writing sections.

According to GMAC there would be some audio component to this section and this would be close to what MBA students experience in real life. The new section with have questions where they have to interpret graphs and spreadsheets to get to determine the relationship based on the information they have in hand.
Has anyone heard/read of any other changes? Please share.

Replies

• shreyas999
    shreyas999
    hii;
    i am studying in b.tech 3rd yr.
    i am planning to take GMAT this yr.
    I would lyk to do my MBA after my b.tech. Is it a right decision to pursue MBA abroad directly after B.tech with out any job experience??
    should i be taking the GMAT after the pattern changes or before?
    if i do mba directly after b.tech will my degree have a good value?

pls reply quickly with your opinions.
  • mathbyvemuri
    mathbyvemuri
    Break up of GMAT scoring scales
    AWA score (1-6)
    Integrated Reasoning score (1-8)
    Qunatitative score (0-60)
    Verbal score (0-60)
    Total GMAT score (200-800)

Salient Points regarding IR section:
    • The total GMAT score (out of 800) is only calculated off of your Quant and Verbal scores.
    • Even though Verbal and Quant sections of the GMAT are computer adaptive, the new IR section is not computer adaptive. How you answer one question will not affect what question is given to you next.
    • You will have 30 minutes to do 12 questions
    • Different Question Formats tested in IR:
    1. Graphics Interpretation – Interpret the graph and select the option from a drop-down list.
    2. Two-part Analysis – Select One Answer from each column to solve a problem with a two-part solution.