Tracking Phailin

Since I am a resident of Bhubaneswar, Odisha I spent the entire day yesterday stocking up on essential supplies for the upcoming cyclone Phailin. Last time in the year 1999, we did not have much information as soon as electricity supply lines got severed. So this time to keep an eye on the latest cyclonic storm “Phailin’ I have the taken the help of Internet, the best tool at my disposal. The following paragraphs will help you to keep an eye on Phailin.

Satellite Images

IMD Source: #-Link-Snipped-#. Click on Satellite Image link on the left hand side and access the satellite images from the Kalpana I satellite. The images are uploaded at select times in the day.

Real time updated satellite images from NOAA: Even though the official website is now offline due to the Federal government shutdown you still can view the live satellite images on this #-Link-Snipped-#. You need to have flash enabled for this site.

Tracking The Cyclone

The Cyclocane website provides advanced information and more satellite images than regular sites. You can track Phailin at this TROPICAL CYCLONE PHAILIN Tracker | Cyclocane.

Weather Updates

Popular websites like The Weather Channel do provide excellent details, but for I personally appreciate the AccuWeather website and its native apps for their design. Bhubaneswar City forecast link #-Link-Snipped-#.

As Phailin gets the dreaded super-cyclone status, I advise people of Coastal Andhra Pradesh and Odisha to stay safe out there.

PS: I will try to update the thread with further information.

Replies

• Satya Swaroop Dash
    Satya Swaroop Dash