To root or not to root? (Motorola G 2014)

I own a Motorola G (2014), which I bought on January 2015. Ever since I've upgraded to Lollipop(5.0.2) the phone has started lagging a lot and it has become quite irritating. The phone was working very well on KitKat(4.4.4).

I want to get rid of Lollipop and maybe install a KitKat ROM or some other custom ROM. I know this will void my warranty but I'm ready to do it. I'm new to all these terms like 'root', 'flashing', 'bricking' and so on. I'm learning but still wanted to know from users who have rooted phones if I should go ahead and root my phone.

What are the chances of bricking the phone? And which Custom ROM should I add?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# may have suggestions for you.
  • Anoop Kumar
    Anoop Kumar
    I don't think there would be any problem with rooting.
    You just need to follow the correct steps at 1st time.
    head to #-Link-Snipped-# . I would suggest to watch plenty of video about rooting your so you get confidence with it.
    Next step - Take Nandroid Backup (backup from recovery) as soon as you root the phone and save it to your computer. So you can restore whenever required.
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    Rooting Motorola devices is very easy.
    - Unlock Bootloader
    - Flash Custom Recovery via adb
    - Root your device using Custom Recovery (TWRP recommended)

To Unlock Bootloader :
    Read instruction from Motorola website : #-Link-Snipped-#

To Flash Custom Recovery :
    - After unlocking bootloader, start the device and connect to PC and put latest twrp img and supersu zip in internal sd [you'll find files from Moto G XDA]
    - Go to recovery mode [Vol Up + Screen On/Off], connect your device with usb, open terminal & type 'fastboot flash recovery twrp.img'
    You've successfully flashed custom recovery.

To Root :
    - Go to recovery mode and start custom recovery i.e TWRP
    - Flash supersu.zip

Root done.