Mechanical Engineer starting career in IT field

I have posted this query many times but didn't get any expert advice i expected. I am a mechanical engineer and will be leaving my job from next month. Job prospects are good in mechanical if you get selected for campus from tier 1 college. For rest of us its hardwork+lots of luck. I have following reasons to go in IT field.
1) no job satisfaction in my current job .
2) Lack of quality jobs for off campus students.
3)I have been learning python myself and have ability to learn new things be it from any engineering field.
4)money
I have set programming as an alternative career option if i don't get desired job in mechanical. But learning java and other courses will take some time and i dont want my decision to backfire and risk spending time and money on these courses if recruiters aren't interested in hiring a mechanical guy for coding.
Kindly help

Replies

• Sanyam Khurana
    Sanyam Khurana
    Deadman
    I have posted this query many times but didn't get any expert advice i expected. I am a mechanical engineer and will be leaving my job from next month. Job prospects are good in mechanical if you get selected for campus from tier 1 college. For rest of us its hardwork+lots of luck. I have following reasons to go in IT field.
    3)I have been learning python myself and have ability to learn new things be it from any engineering field.
    4)money
    I have set programming as an alternative career option if i don't get desired job in mechanical. But learning java and other courses will take some time and i dont want my decision to backfire and risk spending time and money on these courses if recruiters aren't interested in hiring a mechanical guy for coding.
    Kindly help
    Honestly, I don't think it matters that if they're hiring a mech guy, what matters is how good you are at understanding things, grab up with their code base and develop/maintain software.