Somethng related to age calculations......!!!

um... Wen a human or any living thng dies v find its death age by carbon dating..... What if a person is alive bt he doesnt knw his age no proof whatsoever.... How do v find his age.... I read bout bone formations bt den it would be like huge appeoximation..... So..... Jus temme a solution...

okay... Guys for starters im no engineer im in 12th bt i saw dis siteee its amazzing nd i get dese doubts.... Whch i want to clear... Dats y.....

Replies

• Gautami Shetty
    Gautami Shetty
    guys d discipline is fake cuz odawise im nt allowed to make an account sorrieee
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    gautami shetty
    guys d discipline is fake cuz odawise im nt allowed to make an account sorrieee
    Don't worry; you should have chosen biomedical or any other branch of engineering of your choice. I'll tag #-Link-Snipped-# , who might know the answer.

PS: Please avoid SMS language while posting on CE; it might be a little difficult in the beginning, but you will soon get used to it 😀
  • Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    Since a living organism is continuously exchanging carbon with the atmosphere, the C-14 t0 C-12 ratio will be that of the atmosphere. This means that radio carbon dating cannot be applied to living organisms. In a dead organism the ratio changes because there is no exchange with the surroundings. So knowing the decay rate and the current ratio the date of (death) of the organism can be established.
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Some techniques have been developed by biologists using carbon dating of old brain cells or a more cumbersome way of tooth enamel layer analysis carbon dating for establishing age of living humans. Accuracy is doubtful. It may not be legally valid also.
    Please see the discussion here:
    QotW - 10.04.25 - Can you carbon-date a human being? | Naked Science Forum
  • Gautami Shetty
    Gautami Shetty