Signal Transmission

i'm an ECE 2nd yr student
pls help me out with this problem
it will totally decide the grade of my 5 credit course
so pls help me out

You have 10 telephone signals which you have to transmit over a distance of 100 km. You have a cable through which you can transmit signals in the band from 1MHz to 1.5MHz with a loss of 1 dB/km. Any signal which falls below 1 mw is lost. Design a system for achieving this. Give a block diagram of the system, showing all the major units required. Determine the power levels and frequencies,

Discus the parameters which influence your choice of the various blocks and parameters.

Draw the waveforms and spectra at different parts of the system. Give expressions for these as also the values.
i would be really thankful to u ppl
pls reply : #-Link-Snipped-#

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Dhruv, would you mind posting what you have done so far about this? We aren't here to provide ready-made solutions, you know 😀
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Well, I guess you start of with modulating the signal (PCM), add repeaters/amplifiers, etc.
  • reachrkata
    reachrkata
    One of the many ways that I can think of -

1) As suggested, use 8-bit PCM at 8kHz sampling (data rate is 64kbps). It is good enough for voice.
    2) FM modulate all 10 PCM signals with 10 different carriers equally spaced in the 500KHz band. This is FDM transmission.
    3) The advantage I see with FM is that signal level is not a very important criterion. As long as the frequency deviation is there you can still retrieve digital data. Nevertheless I feel repeaters would be required because 100dB looks like a big loss. You may also decide the need for repeaters based on the demodulator sensitivity.

Note these points -