Remember Word List For New GRE (Revised)

hey ppl ... i am new to this crazy engineers forum .... i have a query ... if anyone of you can help me and answer my question ... that will be of great help .... my question is - how do i memorize the word list ?? this time the pattern has changed .... antonyms and analogies are not in the scene anymore ... so its all about text completion and sentence equivalence ... will it help - just cramming up the whole barron's word list of 3500 words ... or shall i group the similar meaning words toghether and den memorize them ... using sentences ... ???
HELP MEEE ๐Ÿ˜”
๐Ÿ˜ญ

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    Hi mahimakumar, Welcome to CE. ๐Ÿ˜€

I believe the new GRE is more about application of words and less about memorizing the 'exact' meanings. (which is simple great!)
    Since now you don't have to worry about antonyms and analogies, it would be nice if you can derive the meanings of the words by referring to the context.
    For this, just 'read a lot'. Try to identify the pattern of sentences. When you read any good newspaper, try to make a note of all the difficult words & see if you could make a sense of the paragraph without knowing the actual meaning of those words. Later on, check out those words in the dictionary & see how those words fit in the paragraph.

Of course, you will have to go through the word lists, but try not focus on them a lot. Take as many tests as you can online (even on CE) for text completion & sentence equivalence. All the best. ๐Ÿ‘

Do let us know if you face other problems too.
  • mahimakumar
    mahimakumar
    thanx for the reply
    which books shall i refer for verbal section then ??
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    @mahima: You can refer to this thread: #-Link-Snipped-#
  • RamyaP
    RamyaP
    Hi