Need Urgent help ! , C++ code to Initialize ports on 8051 microcon

I am a complete newbie to the site and to the world of microcontrollers, although I have taken assembly language class during college.
I need some help immediately with initializing ports on a 8051 microcontroller.
I am working at this electronics engineering company as a operations manger and I would like to step up to becoming an engineer ( that's what i graduated in ) - But unfortunately due to financial and other reasons I had to take this job , at this engineering company and have to work my way up . .

My boss just gave me an assignment to "Initialize the ports on the 8051 microcontroller , using C++" AND I told him I can do it, but I have no idea how to do it .

Can you help me please??
I have the data sheet and everything ( PDF)

Someone already helped me with few lines of the code ..
P0 = 0x0F ; write to port
var = P0 ; reads the port into a char variable

Pin0 = 1 ; set port 0 pin 0 bit to 1
bit = Pin0 ; reads port 0 pin 0 into bit
P0MDIN = 0xFF ; setting to 1's
P0MDOUT = 0xFF ; push pull
P0SKIP = 0xFF ; setting port 0 to skip
XBR1 |= 0X40 ; setting xbare bit in XBR1 register

I looked at the data sheet and it seemed to make sense to me..But could you help me finish it please? I am trying to move up within in the company..
There are 3 ports in total -( p0, p1, p2 )

Replies

• Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    What is the Requirement of your Ports means in input mode output mode or QB mode??
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    Dear By Default all ports are in INPUT mode

Write...
    If you want just initialization then this is enough...
    P0 = 0x00; // Port 0 in input mode
    P0 = 0xFF; // Port 0 in Output mode..

if you want to Toggle LED at Specific pin than

led = P0^1; //Port 0 pin1 assign as led

now according to led variable LED will toggle.

Can please tell me where is the problem i think your initialization is Ok !!
  • JAIHO
    JAIHO