Need assistance with no sound in Fedora 21

Yesterday, sound left my operating system Fedora 21. I am a newbie at this and unsure what to do.

I tested the sound settings, and they are turned on. The microphone test showed I was talking - it has a wave movement. However, the test for the output of voice sound did nothing.

Thanks, for any help.

Replies

• lal
    lal
    May be it'll help if you could try to remember what exactly you changed/removed/installed new just before the sound left.

I'm no expert either 😁 The system log could be of help too I guess.

Tagging #-Link-Snipped-#
  • Abhishek Rawal
    Abhishek Rawal
    MsElisa
    Yesterday, sound left my operating system Fedora 21. I am a newbie at this and unsure what to do.
    You mean first you had sound and now it ain't ? Please elaborate what have you done in between ? This 'Yesterday I had sound, today it's not' doesn't really help to find the problem.

Presuming that you haven't enabled rpmfusion repository, open terminal & type :
    sudo -c 'yum localinstall --nogpgcheck https://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm https://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-$(rpm -E %fedora).noarch.rpm'
    Then install non-free codecs :
    sudo yum install gstreamer gstreamer-ffmpeg gstreamer-plugins-bad gstreamer-plugins-bad-free gstreamer-plugins-bad-nonfree gstreamer-plugins-base gstreamer-plugins-good gstreamer-plugins-ugly gstreamer-plugin-crystalhd gstreamer1-plugins-bad-freeworld gstreamer1-plugins-bad-free gstreamer1-plugins-good gstreamer1-libav ffmpeg
    If you don't like terminal, there is GUI available which will download all proprietary codecs, drivers also enabling rpmfusion in your fedora distro. Visit : #-Link-Snipped-#
  • zaveri
    zaveri
    dont worry the sound will come back as it left in the first place.
  • MsElisa
    MsElisa
    Abhishek Rawal