May I introduce myself

A little bit about myself.

I currently work as an engineer for the Illinois Department of Transportation. Graduated college back in 06, went into law enforcement, quit that after a few years (I'm too nice ๐Ÿ˜›) and went into software development, almost had a mental breakdown due to long hours staring at codes, quit that and here I am working my dream job as an engineer.

I love every part of my current career. I find it therapeutic and relaxing at times, despite the stress that sometimes comes with it.

If I could do everything all over again, I would have gone to engineering school straight out of high school rather than shooting in the dark for so many years... but I guess that's life.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Howdy #-Link-Snipped-# , it's fantastic to have you here. I think it's all worth it now that you've found solace in engineering. I grew up watching my dad doing some great engineering and fixing everything broken (from cars, scooters to juicers) like a magician. I knew I'd become an engineer and now feel proud of my choice.

How was it working for law enforcement?
  • livingenzyme
    livingenzyme
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Howdy #-Link-Snipped-# , it's fantastic to have you here. I think it's all worth it now that you've found solace in engineering. I grew up watching my dad doing some great engineering and fixing everything broken (from cars, scooters to juicers) like a magician. I knew I'd become an engineer and now feel proud of my choice.

How was it working for law enforcement?